Xbox One

The Xbox One will not launch in 2013 for certain markets, it has been revealed. Microsoft initially planned to release the console in 21 different countries in November, as they said back at E3 in June of this year where they revealed anticipated details about the console itself. This number has now been reduced to just 13 countries that include Australia, Brazil, France, and the United States. The eight areas that will not get a November release however are Belgium, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland, despite what was said earlier in the year at E3.

Microsoft have put the delay down to a necessity for “work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country.” It’s not all bad news however, as for those who have already pre-ordered  the Day One version of the console in the countries that have been affected by the delay, Microsoft plan to include a yet-to-be-named free game with these consoles when they are eventually released in these regions.

They now plan to release the Xbox One in these eight markets “as soon as possible in 2014” however a specific month has yet to be announced. A specific date has also not yet been set for the console’s November release in the previously mentioned 13 other markets around the world. For a full list of these 13 markets in which Microsoft plan to launch the Xbox One this year head over to gamesindustry International.

Source: Games Industry International